Wintertide Opening Reception:

Friday, Jan 25. 7pm - 11pm

Gallery Hours:

Saturday, Jan 26: 12pm – 6pm

Sunday, Jan 27: 12pm – 5pm

Thurs, Jan 31: 2pm – 6pm

Friday, Feb 1: 2pm – 8pm

Saturday, Feb 2: 12pm – 9pm

Sunday, Feb 3: 12pm – 5pm

Conversation with Jurors:

Friday, Feb 1. 7pm

Wintertide jurors Katie Garrett, Robyne Robinson, John Schuerman and Witt Siasoco will share their unique insights on artist practice, thinking like a juror, Northeast Minneapolis, studio visits and more.

Wintertide is a bi-annual juried exhibition produced by Northeast Minneapolis Arts Association (NEMAA), facilitated by Public Functionary, and graciously supported by the Cedarwoods Foundation. Wintertide was created in 2015 to highlight NEMAA member artists’ high level of professional artistic capability. Goals for the exhibit include: connect artists, NEMAA, and Public Functionary to a wider range of arts patrons and buyers, support artists professionally, and build the reputation and recognition of Northeast Minneapolis as a premier, respected visual arts community in the region. Juried Biennial Exhibitions are an important instigator in the discovery of exceptional work of emerging, mid-career and established artists based on a competitive jury process.

For the 2019 biennial exhibition, NEMAA is pleased to share that the biennial artists were selected through a new jury process that centers the ideas of artist practice, studio time, and one-on-one dialogue between artists and curators. Following a selection of semi-finalists from the online submissions, jurors visited each semi-finalist artist to learn more about their practice and discuss a completed or in-progress work. After “studio visits” the jurors collectively curated a selection of 21 artists to be included in the final biennial. In addition to selecting the artists in the Biennial, the jurors will award a total of $12,500 in cash prizes.

Selected artists must be a NEMAA member for the year 2019.

Wintertide 2019 Artists: Katayoun Amjadi, Hallie Bahn, Leslie Barlow, Moira Bateman, Kendall Bohn, Brian Bolden, Heather M. Cole, Emily Donovan, Philipo Dyauli, Marjorie Fedyszyn, Nicholas Harper, Christopher Harrison, Suzanne Howe, Rock Johnsen, Caitlin Karolczak, Reggie LeFlore, Steve Ozone, Kimberlee Joy Roth, Tressa Sularz, Russ White.

Wintertide 2019 Jurors: Robyne Robinson, John Schuerman, Katie Garrett, Witt Siasoco

Public Functionary